Daily UX Writing Challenge- Day 2

Promo message for a Sports App

Janelle Akahomen
2 min readMar 18, 2023

Hello again! Welcome to Day 2 of the Daily UX Writing Challenge. I appreciate the applause on Day 1. If you have any feedback, don’t hesitate to let me know. I am here to get better.

Day 2

Scenario: A user is a working parent, and a big sports fan, in the midst of their favourite sports season who can no longer attend games.

Challenge: Write a promotional screen for an app that lets a user choose teams, sends game reminders, real-time score updates and highlights videos.

Headline: 40 characters max
Body: 175 characters max
Button(s): 25 characters max

My Response

The goal of any promotional ad is to get a user to take action. For this reason, I went with a persuasive and enthusiastic tone.

Where I’m from, sports fans here are really football (soccer) fans, so I used that as the background attraction.

Headline:

The icon beside the app “Sportsallday” already shows that the app gives football (soccer) updates. The headline goes further to tell the reader that they can be in touch with their game from anywhere. It won’t matter where they find themselves, they can always be part of the games.

The Body

An ad should never be too wordy, as you may lose the reader. Lists are far easier to read than long sentences. I decided to list some important features of the app that would get the reader's attention.

The line “Download the SportsAllDay app and experience the thrill!” is aimed at getting the reader excited after going through the things he gets from the app.

The Buttons

The promotional ad is for one purpose, to get the reader to download the app.

And that’s it for Day 2.

Let me know what you think.

--

--

Janelle Akahomen

I love to write and I am quite good at it. I am here to journal my process and give my view points on things. It could get dark. Connect on Twitter if you dare